Tamerville ceremony: my remarks

George and LeonardGeorge Dennebouy reading his French translation of Leonard Cizewski’s remarks at the Tamerville memorial, May 31, 2014.

Photo by Cheryl A. Robinson

My late father, Felix A. Cizewski, said very little about his service in World War Two.  After he died, I looked at his copy of his records and found many gaps. I researched at the National Archives and discovered that he served as private in Company C, 3110th (thirty one tenth) Signal Service Battalion, Army Service Forces.

I once asked him if he ever wished to visit the places he served in Europe

He replied that he first wanted to see everything he could in the United States.

Then he added that if he ever returned to Europe it would be to see how it was rebuilt. He said he saw so much destroyed.

I thought he was referring to the well known destruction of German cities.

As my wife Cheryl and I prepared for our trip, we viewed the World War Two photos and movies of the damage done to Valognes by American forces to liberate it from the Nazis.

That made it clear that my father was referring to what he first witnessed here.

I realize how both the occupation and liberation caused great pain and loss of civilian life in Tamerville. Cheryl and I are here to also join you in honoring the civilians who suffered just as you are honoring the service of my late father’s company.

In February 1944, the 3110th Signal Service Battalion was sent to England where they worked on communications support for the liberation of France.

On July 26, while the rest of the battalion remained in England, my father and Company C landed at Utah Beach and traveled to a bivouac site outside of Tamerville.

My father’s Company C was the battalion’s Open Wire Repair Section with pole and wire construction and maintenance responsibilities.

He may have work on the communications facilities constructed in Valognes and the Chiffrevast Château near Tamerville.

For their work in England and France, my father and the 3110th Signal Service Battalion were awarded the Meritorious Unit Commendation.

On August 19, my father was sent to Cherbourg then to Paris where in December he suffered severe frostbite. After he recovered, he was transferred to the 45th Signal Company, 45th Infantry Division. He provided communications support for the combat units of his division as they liberated Dachau.

After returning from the war he worked as a truck driver in Chicago. He met and married my mother. They raised four children. He was most proud of his family.

When my son watched movies of the battles in Normandy I told him to imagine the ten or twelve men and women– including his grandfather—providing support behind every paratrooper.

Men and women such as my father seem at times to be forgotten or lost to history. I view your memorial for my father’s company as also being a memorial for the hundreds of thousands of women and men who provided support and service throughout the war. Your memorial means they will not be forgotten.

Ten years after my father’s death, you have given me a way to bond with him

On behalf of my late father and my family I thank you.


Mon père, Félix A. Cizewski, aujourd’hui décédé, a dit peu de chose au sujet de son service pendant la Seconde guerre mondiale. Après son décés j’ai consulté ses notes , mais il y avait peu d’informations. J’ai fait des recherches aux archives nationales et j’ai découvert qu’il a servi comme soldat dans la compagnie “C” du 3110 (trente et un dixiéme) Signal Service Battailon, du service des Fores Armées.

Un jour, je lui ai demandé s’il avait souhaité revoir les endroits òu il avait servi en Europe.

Il m’a répondu qu’il souhaitait d’abord voir tout ce qu’il pourrait voir aux Etats Unis.

Puis il a ajouté que si un jour il retournait en Europe, ce serait pour voir comment tout avait été reconstruit car il avait vu tant de destructions.

Je pensais qu’il parlait des destructions connues des villes allemandes.

Tandis que mon épouse Cheryl et moi préparions notre venue ici, nous avons vu des photos et des films des destructions causes à Valognes par les Forces Américaines pour libérer la ville des nazis.

Cela devenait clair pour moi qu’il parlait de ce don’t il avait été témoin ici.

Je réalise combien, à la fois, l’occupation et la Libération ont causé de peines et de pertes pour la population de Tamerville. Cheryl et moi sommes présents pour nous joindre à vous pour honorer les civils qui ont souffert comme vous honorez les services rendus par la compagnie de mon père.

En Février 1944, le 3110 Signal Service Battailon a été envoyé en Angleterre òu les hommes ont préparé les moyens de communication pour la Libération de la France.

Le 26 Juillet, alors qu’une partie du Battailon restait en Angleterre, mon père et la compagnie « C » débarquait à Utah-Beach et venait bivouaquer à Tamerville.

La compagnie de mon père était en charge de la pose des poteaux et la construction des lignes aériennes de communication, et était responsible de leur maintenance.

Il a participé à la réalisation de moyens de communication à Valognes et dans le Chateau de Chiffrevast à Tamerville .

Pour leur travail en Angleterre et en France, mon père et le 3110 Signal Service Battailon ont été décorés de la médaille « Meritorious Unit Commendation ».

Cette décoration était décernée aux unités non-combattantes pour les services de logistique rendus pendant une période de plus de six mois aux unités combattantes

Le 19 Aout, mon père a été transféré à Cherbourg puis à Paris,`ou en Décembre il a souffert de graves engelures.Une fois guérri, il a été transféré à la 45iéme Signal Compagniy, 45iéme Division d’Infanterie.
Il participait à la mise en œuvre des moyens de communication des unités de combat de sa Division quand ils ont libéré DACHAU.

Retourné à la vie civile après guerre, il a travaillé comme chauffeur routier à Chicago. Il a rencontré ma mère et se sont marriés. Ils ont eu 4 enfants. Il était très fier de sa famille.

Quand mon fils a vu des films sur la Battaille de Normandie, je lui ai demandé d’imaginer les dix à 12 femmes et hommes, incluant son grand-père, fournissant les supports derrière chaque parachutiste.

Les hommes et les femmes comme mon père semblent être oubliés et perdus par l’histoire. Je vois votre mémorial en souvenir de mon père comme étant un mémorial en mémoire des centaines de milliers de femmes et d’hommes qui ont participé à la logistique pendant toute la guerre.
Votre mémorial signifie qu’ils ne seront pas oubliés.

Dix ans après son décés , vous m’avez permis de me rapprocher de lui.

Au nom de mon père et de ma famille, je vous remercie.

– Translation by Georges Debounney


Acknowledgements:

Jeff Spitzer-Resnick and Marj Halperin assisted in the writing of my remarks.

Hugh Foster confirmed the proper way to say “3110th” is “thirty one tenth”.

I rehearsed by reading to my remarks to Carol Barry and Jeff Spitzer-Resnick.

Georges Debounney translated and read my remarks in French translation at the ceremony.


Related links:

Northern France with details of the 3110th Signal Service Battalion’s service in Normandy.

Infantry, Air Force, Medical, and Signal Corps Units in Tamerville and Valognes

Permalink

Shortlink

Revised June 17, 2014

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Tamerville ceremony: my remarks”

  1. Marshall Says:

    Nice, Leonard! Shared victory, and shared struggles.

Leave a Reply

